Iyengar yoga is world-wide one of the most popular forms of Hatha yoga. Bellur Krishnamachar Sundararaja (B.K.S.) Iyengar was the founder of this form of yoga and was one of the worlds greatest yoga teachers. Born in Bellur, Karnataka, India on 14th December 1918, he dedicated his life to yoga from an early age. He died in Pune, India, at the age of 95.

During his decades of practising yoga he carefully studied every posture in terms of alignment and developed props to assist achieving each position precisely - these props help students to take up difficult yoga positions or to experience simpler forms more intensely. B.K.S. Iyengar developed a form of yoga that allows every student to get to know their body in the different positions.

An Iyengar yoga teacher is able to modify the exercises to fit each yoga student. Qualifying as an Iyengar yoga instructor takes at least 3 years of intensive training in Iyengar yoga, with courses in anatomy, philosophy, pedagogy and physiology and a yearly refresher course taught by leading Iyengar yoga teachers.

img

The B.K.S. Iyengar method

B.K.S. Iyengar yoga is not primarily concerned with developing physical strength but instead it seeks to develop mental strength, concentration and mindfulness. B.K.S. Iyengar developed a style of yoga based on three supporting pillars.

Alignment: A detailed and fine concentration on the exact setting of muscles, bones and limbs that sets out to achieve an inner and outer alignment. This has a positive effect and leads from the technical aspect into a deeper understanding.

Sequencing: The yoga exercises are structured to enable you to work step by step towards a complex asana. At the same time the sequence of the positions (standing, sitting and backward bending) will both strengthen and calm your nervous system and allow you to leave the session stronger and more relaxed.

Length: In order to really experience each position, the positions will be held (with or without props) for a specifically set time.

img

Regenerative Yoga/Bodyscan

Regenerative yoga is an extension of classic yoga positions. In times of extreme tension and restlessness, regenerative yoga positions can be very helpful. Regenerative asanas help to reduce stress and let body, mind and soul relax.

You learn how to relax your body by doing certain basic exercises that are held for a certain length of time with the help of props.

Concentrating on your breathing, you can banish any restless thoughts. These breathing exercises bring you into a state of relaxation at which point we can begin with a “body scan”- a conscious journey through your body in which the principal purpose is to awaken awareness for your body and its individual sensitivities.

img

Supportive Yoga

It's never too late to start yoga.
Are you untrained, older, physically restricted or are you in the menopause?

With the help of special yoga props you can move properly and handle your body more attentively. That is important, to improve your health and thereby also your quality of life.

Yoga is also a gift for the elderly. You only don't obtain health and contentment, you also get clarity in the mind and positive thoughts for your future.

Iyengar-Yoga ist einer der bekanntesten Hatha-Yogastile weltweit und wurde durch den indischen Yogalehrer B.K.S. Iyengar, begründet. Bellur Krishnamachar Sundararaja (B.K.S.) Iyengar war Gründer des Iyengar-Yoga und einer der größten Yogameister weltweit. Er wurde am 14. Dezember 1918 in Bellur, Karnataka, Indien geboren und widmete sein Leben bereits in jungen Jahren dem Yoga. Am 19. August 2014 ist er im Alter von 95 Jahren in Pune/Indien gestorben.

Während seiner jahrzehntelangen Übungspraxis erforschte er jede einzelne Yogahaltung (Asana) in Bezug auf die korrekte Ausrichtung und Wirkung und entwickelte die Yoga-Hilfsmittel (props). Diese ermöglichen dem Yogaübenden auch schwierigere Yogahaltungen (Asanas) einzunehmen oder einfachere genauer wahrzunehmen. B.K.S. Iyengar entwickelte einen Yogastil, der es allen Schülern ermöglichen soll, seinen Körper in den verschiedenen Haltungen kennenzulernen.

Ein Iyengar-Lehrer bringt genügend Wissen und Erfahrung mit, um die Asanas (Yogahaltungen) an die Schüler mit individuellen Bedürfnissen anzupassen. Dies  liegt vor allem an seiner intensiven, mindestens dreijährigen und hochqualifizierten Ausbildung in Iyengar-Yoga-Praxis, Anatomie, Philosophie, Pädagogik und Psychologie und seiner jährlichen Fortbildung bei weltweit anerkannten Iyengar-Yogalehrern.

img

Methode nach B.K.S. Iyengar

Yoga nach B.K.S. Iyengar arbeitet nicht in erster Linie an der Entwicklung körperlicher Kraft, sondern an der Entwicklung geistiger Kraft, Konzentration und Achtsamkeit. Hierfür entwickelte er einen Yogastil der auf 3 Säulen ruht.

Ausrichtung: Ein sehr genaues, fein abgestimmtes Arbeiten an einer korrekten Ausrichtung von Muskeln, Knochen, Gelenken u. v. m., um eine innere und äußere Ausrichtung zu erzielen, die eine angenehme Wirkung hat und von der Technik in die Tiefe führt.

Reihenfolge: Die Yogaübungen sind so aufeinander aufgebaut, dass du Schritt für Schritt auf ein bestimmtes, komplexeres Asana vorbereitet wirst. Gleichzeitig wird durch die Abfolge der Haltungen (Stehhaltungen, Sitzhaltungen, Umkehrhaltungen usw.) dein Nervensystem gestärkt und beruhigt und du kannst gestärkt und gelassen den Unterricht verlassen.

Dauer: Damit du eine tiefe Erfahrung und Wirkung erzielst, werden die Übungen (mit oder ohne Hilfsmittel) eine bestimmte Zeit gehalten.

img

Regeneratives Yoga/Bodyscan

Regeneratives Yoga ist eine Ergänzung zu den klassischen Yogahaltungen. In Zeiten extremer Belastung und Unruhe können regenerative Yogahaltungen sehr hilfreich sein. Regenerative Asanas helfen den Stress abzubauen und Körper, Geist und Seele zu entspannen.

In speziellen, einfachen Übungen, die durch den Einsatz von Hilfsmitteln durchgeführt und länger gehalten werden, lernst du deinen Körper zu entspannen.

Du kannst dich ganz auf deinen Atem (Pranayama) konzentrieren und die ruhelosen Gedanken zur Ruhe kommen lassen. Bist du durch bewusstes Atmen zur Ruhe gekommen, beginnen wir mit einer bewussten Reise durch deinen Körper, dem Bodyscan. Im Bodyscan geht es nicht um ein einfaches Ausruhen, sondern um eine mit Aufmerksamkeit ausgeführte Fahrt durch deinen Körper und seine Empfindungen.

img

Unterstützendes Yoga

Es ist niemals zu spät mit Yoga zu beginnen.
Bist du ungeübt, älter, körperlich eingeschränkt oder befindest dich in der Menopause – gehe nur so weit wie es dir dein Körper erlaubt zu tun.

Mit Zuhilfenahme von Hilfsmitteln lernst du dich richtig zu bewegen und achtsamer mit deinem Körper umzugehen. Das ist wichtig, um deine Gesundheit und damit deine Lebensqualität zu verbessern.

Yoga ist auch ein Geschenk für Ältere. Du gewinnst nicht nur an Gesundheit und Zufriedenheit, sondern Klarheit im Geist und positives Denken für deine Zukunft stellt sich ein.